Rx in Reach GA - CALL TO ACTION

Article Type: 
Blog

Update: PBM Bills for June 2020 Reconvened Session

 

There is still uncertainty in terms of what the Senate will be addressing when they reconvene on Monday, June 15. The Rx in Reach Georgia Coalition will continue to ensure that as senate leadership discusses its agenda for the coming weeks, the package of pharmacy benefit manageer (PBM) patient protection and transparency bills are part of the discussion.

 

 

But we need your help. Click here to easily send an email urging the passage of pharmacy benefit manager (PBM) reform legislation.

 

BILL UPDATES

HB 918, 946, and SB 313

·       Patient steering and other practices including co-pay accumulator continued throughout the pandemic. There were many patients who were turned away from their pharmacy of choice at the counter and forced to drive greater distances or wait to receive their needed medications through the mail during this uncertain time.

·       With unemployment at the level it is, more patients will need the benefits of copay assistance and these accumulator practices are not only hurting patients’ pocketbooks, but it is forcing patients to do without needed medications.

·       HB 946 is estimated to save the state $14 million and a total of $44.1 including the federal share via prohibiting the practice of spread pricing for State of Georgia agencies. With the state budget crisis these savings become even more important.

 

HB 947 (Prescription carve out from Medicaid Managed Care)

  • Medicaid managed care companies overcharged the state of Georgia over $90 million dollars in the last two years via spread pricing;
  • They continue to engage in harmful patient practices for Georgia’s sickest patients including patient steering and forcing patients to out of state mail order pharmacies owned by affiliated companies.
  • West Virginia carved prescription benefits out of Medicaid managed care and put it back into fee for service and it saved over $50 million in one year alone while cutting out harmful practices such as steering.

 

Click here to easily send an email urging the passage of pharmacy benefit manager (PBM) reform legislation.

 

Our Rx in Reach website is updated. Please refer to these resources:

·       The “take action” page is updated on the Rx in Reach website: https://www.rxinreachga.org/action

 

·       We also added the Coalition statement on the legislation to the resources tab here: https://www.rxinreachga.org/resources

 

·       And the op-ed has been added to the newsroom: https://www.rxinreachga.org/newsroom

 

 

Please also share these important messages on social media and ask your members to tag the members of the Senate Insurance and Labor Committee and the House Special Committee on Access to Quality Health Care.

 

Click here to easily send an email urging the passage of PBM reform.

 

Senate Insurance and Labor Committee Contact Information

 

Lawmakers Name

Twitter

Phone

Email

Sen. Burt Jones – Chairman (r-25)

@burtjonesforga

(770) 775-4880

burt.jones@senate.ga.gov

Sen. P. K. Martin IV – Vice Chairman (R-9)

@pkmartiniv

(770) 378-2102

p.k.martin@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Marty Harbin (R-16)

@VoteHarbin

(404) 656-0078

marty.harbin@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Freddie Powell Sims (D-12)

@Freddie_Sims

(404) 463-5259

freddie.sims@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Renee S Unterman (R-45)

@Renee_Unterman

 

(404) 463-1368

renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Ben Watson (R-1)

@RepBenWatson

(912) 527-5100

ben.watson@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Dean Burke (R-11)

@DrDeanBurke

(404) 656-0040

dean.burke@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Ed Harbison (D-15)

@Sen_Ed_Harbison

(404) 656-0074

ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Kay Kirkpatrick (R-32)

N/A

(404) 656-3932

kay.kirkpatrick@senate.ga.gov

Sen. David Lucas (D-26)

@SenDavidLucas

(404) 656-0150

david.lucas@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Randy Robertson (R-29)

@robertsonforga

(404) 463-3931

randy.robertson@senate.ga.gov

Sen. Larry Walker, III (R-20)

N/A

(404) 656-0095

larry.walker@senate.ga.gov

 

House Special Committee 0n Access to Quality Health Care

 

Lawmakers Name

Twitter

Phone

Email

Rep. Mark Newton – Chairman (R-123)

N/A

(404) 656.0254

mark.newton@house.ga.gov

Rep. Sharon Cooper – Vice Chairman (R-43)

@RepSharonCooper

(404) 656.5069

sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov

Rep. Patty Bentley (D-139)

N/A

(404) 656.0287

patty.bentley@house.ga.gov

Rep. John Corbett (R-174)

N/A

(404) 656.0213

john.corbett@house.ga.gov

Rep. Spencer Frye (D-118)

@spencerfrye

(404) 656.0265

spencer.frye@house.ga.gov

Rep. Matt Hatchett (R-150)

@jmatthatchett

(404) 656.5025

matt.hatchett@house.ga.gov

Rep. Penny Houston (R-170)

N/A

(404) 463.2248

penny.houston@house.ga.gov

Rep. Todd Jones (R-25)

@turntotodd

(404) 656.0213

todd.jones@house.ga.gov

Rep. David Knight (R-130)

@RepDavidKnight

(404) 463.2248

david.knight@house.ga.gov

Rep. Randy Nix (R-69)

@reprandynix

(404) 656.5146

randy.nix@house.ga.gov

Rep. Butch Parrish (R-158)

N/A

(404) 463.2246

butch.parrish@house.ga.gov

Rep. Clay Pirkle (R-155)

@claypirkle

(404) 656.0188

clay.pirkle@house.ga.gov

Rep. Brian Prince (D-127)

N/A

(404) 656.0116

brian.prince@house.ga.gov

Rep. Richard H. Smith (R-134)

@smithforgeorgia

(404) 656.5141

richard.smith@house.ga.gov

Rep. Calvin Smyre (D-135)

@calvinsmyre

(404) 656.0109

calvinsmyre@synovus.com

 

Draft Social Media Messages

 

·       Access to high quality and affordable health care and prescriptions has never been more important. We need PBM reform now. #SB313, #HB946 and other legislation must pass during the GA reconvene session! @burtjonesforga @pkmartiniv @RepSharonCooper  https://times-herald.com/news/2020/06/pharmacy-steering-detrimental-to-patient-care

 

·       #PBMs are third party middlemen that skirt transparency and contribute to rising drug prices. [INSERT LAWMAKER HANDLE] please support #SB 313, #HB 946, HB 947, and HB 918 and reform PBMs today! https://www.rxinreachga.org/problem #GAPol

 

·       Patients deserve affordable medicines but PBMs only create barriers and higher prices. Please support reforming #PBMs and passing #SB313 and #HB 946 [INSERT LAWMAKER HANDLE] https://times-herald.com/news/2020/06/pharmacy-steering-detrimental-to-patient-care #GAPol

 

·       The practices of pharmacy benefit managers (#PBMs) have driven up drug costs across GA and created too barriers for Georgians to access the treatments they need. Please support #SB313, #HB946 and other PBM reform legislation @burtjonesforga @pkmartiniv @RepSharonCooper #GAPol

 

·       One local pharmacist shares their experience dealing with #PBMs and how they limit care for her employees and patients. That’s why we [INSERT LAWMAKER HANDLE] need to support PBM reform with #SB313, #HB946, HB 947 and HB 918. https://times-herald.com/news/2020/06/pharmacy-steering-detrimental-to-patient-care #GAPol

 

 

6.2020

https://www.rxinreachga.org/

dlg@arxc.org