Marketplace Open Enrollment Season Begins November 1, 2015 - Check out the latest educational materials

Article Type: 
Blog

November 1, 2015 marks the begining of the third Marketplace Open Enrollment Season at HealthCare.gov!

HealthCare.gov is getting ready to welcome consumers back. Over the last few months, the Marketplace has been updated to make enrollment quicker and smoother for both returning and new customers.

Ahead of Open Enrollment 2016, new features were added to HealthCare.gov based on consumer feedback about previous experiences with the site and the type of additional information they want in order to pick the right plan. Over the next several weeks, additional features will be added to provide consumers with even more information about their plan choices.

For more information about these improvements view the full Fact Sheet at: https://www.cms.gov/Newsroom/MediaReleaseDatabase/Fact-sheets/2015-Fact-sheets-items/2015-10-23.html 

This year there are also new materials available to help consumers understand their options and find and enroll in health insurance plans that best meet their and/or their families' needs. Click on the links below to review these easy-to-read materials. 

Another great free resource availble to consumers is the webinar series that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) hosts online. Below is a list of upcoming webinars that you may like to join. Participation in these webinars is free, but registration is required. Click the links below to register for the webinars. 

Click here to view the October 26, 2015 recording of the Marketplace webinar led entirely in Spanish.

Connecting Kids to Coverage

October 29 at 3:30 pm ET

(2:30 pm CT, 1:30 pm MT, 12:30 pm PT)

Children and teenagers in your congregation or community may qualify for free or low-cost health insurance coverage through Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Many parents may be eligible for Medicaid as well. Learn about the nationwide effort to identify children and youth eligible for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and get them enrolled.

How to Enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace

November 4 at 3:00 pm ET

(2:00 pm CT, 1:00 pm MT, Noon PT)

Open enrollment started on November 1 and consumers can now enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace. This presentation will discuss how to enroll in the Marketplace, key websites and resources on the health care law. This webinar will include an extended Question and Answer session. Please send your questions to Lisa.Carr@cms.hhs.gov prior to November 4 at Noon ET. 

How to Host an Outreach and Enrollment Event 

November 10 at 2:00 pm ET

(1:00 pm CT, Noon MT, 11:00 am PT)

Join us to learn how to hold a successful Health Insurance Marketplace outreach and enrollment event. The Marketplace is open!  Coverage is available as early as January 1, 2016 for those who enroll by December 15. We will share our Faith Weekend of Action toolkit to help with outreach and enrollment events, show you key websites and answer your questions.  

Health Insurance Options for Immigrant Families 

November 12 at 3:00 pm ET

(2:00 pm CT, 1:00 pm MT, Noon PT)

Please join the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the HHS Partnership Center for a webinar on the benefits available to immigrant families through the Health Insurance Marketplace. We will discuss how to enroll and answer your questions. Open enrollment started on November 1 and ends on January 31, 2016. Don’t delay - the deadline for getting coverage by January 1, 2016 is December 15. 

Affordable Care Act 101 for Individuals and Families

November 19 at 3:00 pm ET

(2:00 pm CT, 1:00 pm MT, Noon PT)

This presentation will discuss what is the Affordable Care Act and the Health Insurance Marketplace, how to enroll in the Marketplace, key websites and resources on the law. How to re-enroll in the Marketplace will also be discussed. Open enrollment in the Marketplace began on November 1, 2015 with coverage beginning as early as January 1, 2016. Open enrollment ends on January 31, 2016. Questions will be answered at the end of the webinar.

How to Re-Enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace

December 3 at 1:00 pm ET

(Noon CST, 11:00 am MST, 10:00 am PST)

If you have health insurance that you selected through the Health Insurance Marketplace, December 15 is the last day to check your health insurance options and re-enroll with changes taking place by January 1, 2016. Starting on December 16, you may be automatically re-enrolled in your plan or a similar plan. We will share how to update your income and household status, re-enroll and where to go for more information. 

Affordable Care Act 101 for Individuals and Families

December 8 at 1:00 pm ET

(Noon CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT)

This presentation will discuss what is the Affordable Care Act and the Health Insurance Marketplace, how to enroll in the Marketplace, key websites and resources on the law. How to re-enroll in the Marketplace will also be discussed. Open enrollment in the Marketplace began on November 1, 2015 with coverage beginning as early as January 1, 2016. Open enrollment ends on January 31, 2016. Questions will be answered at the end of the webinar.

Affordable Care Act 101 for Individuals and Families

January 6 at 2:00 pm ET

(1:00 pm CT, Noon MT, 11:00 am PT)

This presentation will discuss what is the Affordable Care Act and the Health Insurance Marketplace, how to enroll in the Marketplace, key websites and resources on the law. Open enrollment ends on January 31, 2016. Questions will be answered at the end of the webinar.